

2021 Annual Meeting for ESP ZETA Chapter Minutes

Monday, November 8, 2021

Social/brunch at 9:30am MST (meeting begins at 10:30am MST)
Larimer County Extension Office
1525 Blue Spruce Drive, Fort Collins, Colorado

Join via Zoom at 10:30am MST:
https://zoom.us/j/96023745571?pwd=TEEzK3E5OVpaU3Q1QmVDaXZPdnArdz09
Meeting ID: 960 2374 5571 | Passcode: ESPZETA
Call-in: 669-900-6833 | Call-in passcode: 3455336

Members/Guests Present: 30 members and 2 guests

Joy Akey, Kali Benson, Luann Boyer, Holli Campbell, Susan Carter, Olivia Clark, Deryn Davidson, Katie Dunker, Carla Farrand, MJ Fisher, Christie Fitzpatrick, Todd Hagenbuch, Gisele Jefferson, Kurt Jones, Dennis Kaan, Tony Koski, Faith Kroschel, Brenda Kwang, Alison O'Connor, Mark Platten, Patti Schmitt, Sue Schneider, Denyse Schrenker, Dan Schroder, Alice Smith, Mary Snow, Dawn Thilmany, Drew Walters, Abby Weber, Glenda Wentworth, Dani Wesolowski and Gus Westerman.

Minutes

Call to Order and Welcome - Alison O'Connor, President, called the meeting to order at 10:25 a.m.

The Extension Professionals Creed - Tony Koski led the group in reciting the creed.

Introduction of Officers, Life Members and Special Guests- Alison O'Connor introduced the current Zeta Chapter officers. Life members present at the meeting were Luann Boyer, Christy Fitzpatrick and Gisele Jefferson will be a new life member in 2022.

2021 ESP Memorials - Luann Boyer, Executive Secretary, conducted the memorial recognition. The following are the names of Extension professionals who passed away over the past year. There will be a moment of silence to acknowledge and recognize their service to Extension. They were:

Raleigh Brooks: Pueblo County 4-H Agent; Director Colorado State 4-H Programs
Norm Brown: Adams and Larimer County Agent; Adams County Extension Director
Tom Doherty: Area Agronomist - Southeast Area Extension and Tri Rivers Area Extension
Gerald "Bill" William King: 4-H Youth Agent, Las Animas & Boulder counties; Custer County Director
Thomas LaQuey, Jr.: Agriculture Extension Agent, Northeastern Colorado
Charles D. "Dave" McManus: County Ag Extension Agent, Tri Rivers Area; Teller & Gunnison Counties
Lowell Watts: Colorado Director of Extension and Community Services

2022 Committee Sign-up - Todd Hagenbuch, President –Elect, encouraged all Zeta chapter members to sign up for committees using the Google form prepared:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1YdbyhRUyx - MTxvCB9kp9y7eHNhWuoH4J5R4Z1Is0LI/edit#gid=0

Todd Hagenbuch moved the Executive Committee can assign members to committees; Mark Platten seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Presentation - Recap of the 2021 National Conference in Savannah, Georgia was given by the seven chapter members who attended: Luann Boyer, Susan Carter, Christy Fitzpatrick, Dennis Kaan, Tony Koski, Alison O'Connor and Mark Platten. The next two national ESP conferences are set for September 26-29, 2022 in Branson, Missouri and 2023 in Billings, Montana. They encouraged members to serve on national committees. It helps build you up as Extension Professionals and receive a stipend for attending the conference. You can also apply for the chapter Professional Development scholarships to help with the costs of the conference.

ESP State Year in Review - Alison O'Connor, President reviewed the highlights of 2021. Zeta Chapter received a Gold Chapter award for being an active chapter. We had two national award winners: Susan Carter for Early Career Award and Mark Platten for Mid-Career Award. Zeta chapter also had Katie Dunker and the Grow & Give team present a national webinar.

New Member Initiation - Dennis Kaan, Past-President and Membership Chair, called the new members to the front for initiation with the assistance of Todd Hagenbuch: Dani Wesolowski, Mollie Freilicher, Drew Walters and Amy Charchowski.

Consent Agenda – Mark Platten moved to accept the Consent Agenda; MJ Fisher seconded the motion. Motion carried.

a) Minutes of 2020 Annual Meeting: November 9, 2020

b) Committee Reports Committee Chairs i. Membership, Recruitment and Retention Dennis Kaan ii. Global Relations Christy Fitzpatrick iii. Bylaws Carla Farrand iv. Professional Development Kurt Jones v. Scholarships, Grants and Recognition Deryn Davidson vi. Public Issues Todd Hagenbuch Dennis Kaan vii. Nominating viii. Resource Development and Management Gus Westerman

Approve 2022 Budget - Gus Westerman, Treasurer, presented the proposed budget for 2022. He noted a couple of corrections to the printed handout: Annual Meeting Meal should be 45 people @ \$30 = \$1350.00 in the Income and Expense lines; and the Checking Account balance as of 11/8/2021 is \$16,241.05. Tony Koski moved to approve the budget as amended; seconded by Abby Weber. Motion carried.

Kurt Jones announced the he and Carla Farrand had reviewed the treasurer books and found them to be in order.

2022 Officer Nomination Slate - Dennis Kaan & Todd Hagenbuch presented the slate of officer candidates: President-Elect – Gisele Jefferson and Secretary – Amy Lentz. Brenda Kwang moved to close nominations and elect by acclamation. Mark Platten seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Installation of Officers -Mark Platten conducted the officer installation for 2022:

President – Todd Hagenbuch, President-Elect – Gisele Jefferson, Secretary – Amy Lentz, Treasurer – Gus Westerman, Past President – Alison O'Connor.

Other business - Alison O'Connor called Deryn Davidson to the podium for award recognitions.

Recognition of 2020 ESP National Award winners: Susan Carter, Early Career Service Award; and Mark Platten, Mid-Career Service Award.

Recognition of 2021 ESP Zeta Award winners:

Christie Fitzpatrick, Retiree Award;

Joy Akey, Distinguished Service Award;

Lisa Auer, Diversity Individual Award;

Mark Platten, Visionary Leadership Award;

Carla Farrand and Dani Wesoloski – STEM in a Bag/SEM una Bolsa, Diversity Team Award;

Susan Carter, Todd Hagenbuch, Doug Dean, Ragan Adams, Gloria Edwards, Carolina Manriquez and Channing Bice, *After the Disaster Intern Team* – Team Award;

Jim Fricke, Colorado Garden Foundation - Friend of Extension;

Passing of the Gavel -Alison O'Connor, President, passed the gavel to Todd Hagenbuch, the new chapter President.

Final Comments - Todd Hagenbuch, President, noted the Chapter Board is working to update the Zeta Chapter website. Please send any photographs and updated to Todd. He also noted they hope to hold a Joint Board meeting soon of representatives of all the Extension associations to meet with Lindsay Shirley and Blake Naughton. Please send any issues and suggestions to Todd to be taken to this meeting.

Adjourn – Alison O'Connor moved to adjourn the meeting. Meeting adjourned at 11:45 a.m. by Todd Hagenbuch.